Potpourri News

Kano Senator Barau Joins the Senate Leadership Race (22-03-2023).

Kano Senator Barau Joins the Senate Leadership Race (22-03-2023).
Sen. Barau Jibrin

Senator Jubrin Barau, who represents Kano North in the Senate, has formally declared his intention to run for President of the Senate in the upcoming 10th National Assembly.
His announcement comes a day after Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, the Senate Chief Whip, announced it was his turn to preside over the chamber.

Sen. Barau said in a press conference at the National Assembly on Wednesday that competence, capacity, and experience should be used to choose the president of the Senate for the 10th Legislature.
Given that he has the same religion as the next president and vice president, he commented on religious issues.

Religion should not be taken into consideration religious sentiments should not be a factor in determining who will lead the 10th Assembly.


Some newly elected senators from the federal government have expressed interest in running and are reportedly pleading with their colleagues for support, which has intensified the competition for the position of principal officers of the 10th assembly.

Godswill Akpabio and David Umahi are two other senators-to-be who have expressed interest in the role of Senate President.

It was discovered that more than 70 incoming senators were present at the luncheon on Tuesday at the NICON Hotel in Abuja. After the legislators received their certificates of return, the meeting was convened.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) national commissioners presented certificates of return to 98 out of 109 senators on Tuesday at the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

Seven political parties in total won senate seats, with the APC leading the pack with 57 seats.

The New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), the Social Democratic Party (SDP), the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), and the Young Peoples Party (YPP) each won one seat. The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 29 seats.

Barau, a third-term senator and fourth-term member of the National Assembly who previously served in the House of Representatives (1999–2003), facilitated the move that will enable the senators-elect to start creating the necessary bonds among themselves to make the 10th Senate a great success. The meeting lasted for more than an hour.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *