Potpourri News

Omotoso, Egube, Abayomi, Giwa, 23 others make Sanwo-Olu’s fresh nominees’ list

Omotoso, Egube, Abayomi, Giwa, 23 others make Sanwo-Olu’s fresh nominees’ list


The Lagos State House of Assembly, in its commitment to ensuring a competent and effective council for the state, is set to commence the fresh screening of a second batch of nominees sent by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for confirmation. This move, announced by the Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, during a plenary session on Monday, highlights the importance of selecting the right individuals to contribute to the growth and progress of Lagos State.

A Balanced and Diverse Selection


Governor Sanwo-Olu, in his letter titled ‘Forwarding of Official List of Nominees for Appointment as Commissioners and Special Advisers,’ expressed his gratitude to the Speaker and members of the House for their diligence and commitment during the recent screening and confirmation of 22 nominees. However, it is essential to note that, in response to the rejection of 17 names, the governor has put forward a list of nominees that demonstrates his commitment to inclusivity and diversity in Lagos State’s leadership.

This new list represents a broad political spectrum and diverse backgrounds, reflecting the rich tapestry of our beloved state. It is a testament to the governor’s dedication to ensuring that Lagos benefits from a wide range of perspectives and expertise. The inclusion of both previously presented and new individuals is a strategic move to foster innovation and collaboration within the administration.

Meet the Nominees


The list of nominees is an impressive compilation of individuals who bring a wealth of experience and a commitment to public service. These nominees are poised to contribute significantly to the development and progress of Lagos State. Below are the individuals whose names have been put forward for clearance:

  1. Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen
  2. Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi
  3. Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi
  4. Engr. Olalere Odusote
  5. Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola
  6. Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem
  7. Mr. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe
  8. Mr. Samuel Egube
  9. Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu
  10. Mrs. Bolaji Cecelia Dada
  11. Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare
  12. Mr. Olugbenga Omotoso
  13. Mr. Mosopefolu George
  14. Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje
  15. Dr. Olumide Oluyinka
  16. Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi
  17. Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola
  18. Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa

Each of these individuals possesses a unique skill set and a deep commitment to serving the people of Lagos State. Their qualifications and experience make them valuable assets to the government and the citizens they will serve.

A Forward-Thinking Approach


Governor Sanwo-Olu’s decision to include a mix of seasoned professionals and fresh faces in his nominees is a testament to his forward-thinking approach to governance. It recognizes that a diverse and inclusive leadership team is essential for addressing the complex challenges faced by Lagos State and ensuring its continued growth.

The governor’s confidence in these new nominees reflects his belief that they will bring fresh ideas and innovative solutions to the table. This approach aligns with modern governance principles, where diversity of thought and expertise are highly valued for making informed decisions that benefit the entire community.

Reviewing the 2023 Budget


In addition to the nomination of these outstanding individuals, the Lagos State House of Assembly has resolved to review the performance of the 2023 budget. This review is a crucial step in preparing for the presentation of the 2024 budget estimate by Governor Sanwo-Olu. The House had previously approved a budget of N1.768 trillion for the year 2023, and it is essential to assess its implementation to ensure transparency and accountability.

Speaker Obasa has urged the Committee for the budget review, led by Hon. Sa’ad Olumo, to conduct a thorough and comprehensive evaluation. The objective is to provide valuable insights and recommendations that will contribute to the effective utilization of public funds in the coming year.

In conclusion, the Lagos State House of Assembly’s commitment to excellence in governance is evident in its dedication to thorough nominee screening and budget review. With the new batch of nominees, Governor Sanwo-Olu has demonstrated his commitment to a diverse and forward-thinking leadership team. These collective efforts are poised to propel Lagos State further along the path of growth and development.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *